re/direct: Rachel Lovell

Message from the Senior Research Methodologist

This week I’ll be taking over the helm while SSRC Director Greg Scott takes a much-deserved vacation.  Let me introduce myself, if you haven’t already met me.  I am the Senior Research Methodologist here at the SSRC. I often get asked by my friends and family, “What exactly is a methodologist?” Essentially, my main responsibilities include designing, developing, implementing, and analyzing empirical research studies generated within SSRC and to provide methodological assistance to faculty and student researchers. While I am primarily a quantitative researcher, I have experience with and can advise researchers on qualitative projects as well.

So what does that mean to you? Well, it means that if you ever find yourself in need of someone to help you with your research design and analysis, I’m happy to talk with you. Researchers usually need to (or should need to) talk out their ideas with others to get feedback and assistance and refine their ideas. This “sounding board” is an important, vital step in the research process. I invite you to let us be your sounding board.

Greg seems to end every re/direct with the reminder that “your research is our business.” So, in keeping with this tradition, I’ll just say: Remember, your methodology is our business!

Rachel Lovell, Ph.D.
Senior Research Methodologist, Social Science Research Center

Author: Rachel Lovell

Rachel Lovell is the Senior Research Methodologist at the SSRC where she is responsible for designing, developing, implementing, and analyzing empirical research studies generated within SSRC and also by faculty researchers affiliated with SSRC. Rachel received her Ph.D. in sociology from The Ohio State University in 2007. Her more recent research interests include women, public health, and sex work.

Leave a re/ply

